How to Delete Your Pinterest Account

This page may contain affiliate links from which I may make a commission at no cost to you. See How SideGains Makes Money for more information.

How to Delete Your Pinterest Account

My blog topics tend to focus upon how to make things, build things up or grow their blogs. However I recognize that people also want to understand how to stop doing things. One thing I know people struggle with is how to delete their Pinterest account… if that’s why you’re here, that’s what I’m going to show you.

Why Delete Your Pinterest Account?

There’ll likely be lots of reasons you’d want to put a hold on your Pinterest account and of course I can’t know them all. However, if you want to delete your Pinterest account through frustration it’s not working out, I’ll advise you take a moment to reflect… and take a few deep breaths first.

I’ve know several people who have deleted their Pinterest accounts in the past only to regret their decision later. Once you delete your Pinterest account, everything associated with it is gone forever:

  • Your followers.
  • Your boards.
  • Your pins.

If you’ve built up any sort of engagement in Pinterest it’ll be gone and irretrievable.

Take a moment to consider what you really want and don’t make a decision in the heat of the moment you’ll regret later.

An Alternative to Deleting Your Account

If you want to take a break from Pinterest, you can deactivate your account rather than shut it down forever.

For all intents and purposes, deactivating your Pinterest account looks very similar to an deleting it. Your profile, boards and all your pins will be hidden from everyone… it will look to the world that you’ve disappeared.

However, your profile, all your boards and all of your pins will remain on the platform… it’ll be just that people can’t see them.

If you’re having a wobble with Pinterest, it’s a much better idea to deactivate your account and put it to fallow rather than send it to the trashcan forever.

Here’s how to do it…

How to Deactivate Your Pinterest Account (But Not Delete It)

Login to Pinterest and head to your account menu. Click to open the dropdown menu (shown below) to reveal your options and then click “Settings”.

Open Settings

This takes you to the main dashboard for your Pinterest account. Click the “Account settings” link.

Pinterest Account Settings

You’ll arrive at your main Pinterest account settings page. At the bottom of this page you’ll find the “Deactivate account” button. Click this and your account will go into hibernation.

Deactivate Pinterest Account

Finally log out of Pinterest… this is important!

Once you’re logged out of Pinterest, you can check to see if your account is no longer visible by visiting your Pinterest homepage:

www.pinterest.com/your-pinterest-handle/

If you don’t see your account you’ll know you’ve successfully deactivated it. If you still see your account, you’ll likely need to contact Pinterest support to find out what went wrong.

If you decide you want to reactivate your Pinterest account, you just need to log in again with the same details you used previously.

How to Delete Your Pinterest Account

If what you’re looking to do is completely delete your Pinterest account and say goodbye to your pins, the steps are very similar to deactivating your account shown above. The only difference is when you get to you Account Settings page, you click the “Close account” button.

Close Pinterest Account

When you click this button, Pinterest will likely want to gather some feedback as to why you’re closing your account. Add your reasons to the form provided and click the “Next” button to proceed. You’ll be prompted to confirm you’re sure you want to delete your account… so confirm it and send.

If you have a panic attack and decide that deleting your Pinterest account was actually a mistake, you can reactivate your account up to 14 days after requesting deletion. As with reactivating a dormant account, all you need to do is login using your account details and Pinterest will send you an account reactivation link.

14 days after you submit a request to delete your Pinterest account, that’s it! You won’t be able to restore your account or any of the associated pins, so delete your Pinterest account ONLY if you’re 100% certain you want to do so.

Summary

  • Think about it before you delete your Pinterest account. Many people have done so and then regretted it.
  • If you’re frustrated with Pinterest, consider deactivating you account as an alternative to deleting it.
  • Deactivating your Pinterest account keeps your profile, settings, boards and Pins for you, but just hides them so they can no longer be seen by anyone.
  • Reactivate your deactivated Pinterest account simply by logging in.
  • If you choose to delete your Pinterest account, you have a 14 day period to reactivate your account before it’s gone forever.
  • To reactivate a deleted account, you need to login within 14 days of submitting your request to delete it.
  • Your Pinterest account is permanently deleted 14 days after you request deletion.

One last thing… if you want to delete your Pinterest account because your strategies don’t seem to have worked, take a look at my sociable Pinterest marketing strategy and give it one last try!

That’s it for now.

Paul

I hope this helps. If you want to know anything else about deleting your pinterest account, please leave a question in my comment form below.

Be the first to comment on "How to Delete Your Pinterest Account"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*